Do i need a visa for Bali | Visa-on-Arrival | Tourist – LM Visa
Updated visa requirements for Bali as well as policy changes for countries that fall under the Visa-on-Arrival and Visa Exempt categories.
visa Bali, visa for Bali, visa to Bali, do i need a visa for Bali, visa requirements for Bali, visas for Bali
single,single-post,postid-1,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-9.5,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

Do I need a visa for Bali?

Do I need a visa for Bali

Do I need a visa for Bali?

Do I need a visa for Bali?

VOA – Visa on Arrival:

Do I need a visa for Bali? A 30 days single entry visa is granted upon arrival to more than 60 nationalities including Australia, Germany, Switzerland, Japan, South Korea, France, Spain, Holland and many more (see list at bottom of this page).

The cost is US$ 35. You can also pay in some other currencies (EUR or AUS$), however you will get your change in IDR (Rupiah).

There is usually no problem to obtain a visa on arrival (VoA). But your passport must be valid for at least another 6 months and should have enough space for the visa sticker. You should also have a return flight ticket on-hand, they rarely ever ask for it, but it could happen.

“Counting” the days properly, how many days can I stay with a Visa on Arrival?

The VoA is NOT VALID FOR ONE MONTH. Only 30 days.
The day of arrival counts as day one.
The day of departure also counts.

Even if you leave 5 minutes after midnight, it will be counted as a full new day. If you overstay you will have to pay a penalty of 200.000Rp per day. Up to 3 days is usually no problem, you will simply pay the fee at the immigration counter. Quite a few travelers end up paying the additional fee (penalty) because they wrongly assume, that the visa is valid for a month or because they do not know, that the first day of arrival and the day of departure also do count as full days.

In conclusion, with regards to the question “Do I need a visa for Bali?”, the answer is “no” more often than not.


Visa Regulations: Bali & the rest of Indonesia

If you have any other reasons other than simply visiting as a tourist (for a social visit), or if youare a citizen of one of the other countries that are not eligible for a Visa on Arrival (see list below),  you need to apply for one of the following visas before arriving in Indonesia:

These visas will not be issued in Indonesia! Please contact us or the Indonesian Embassy in your home country. Make sure you start your application a few weeks before your intended departure and get all the necessary documents ready.

– Single Entry Visa (Socio-cultural Visa, Tourist Visa, Government (Diplomatic/Service Visa)
– Multiple Entry Visa (Business Visa)
– Transit Visa
– Temporary Stay Visa (KITAS)


Need to stay longer than 30 days if you are already in Indonesia?

If you are already in Indonesia on a VoA, and need to stay longer than the allowed 30 days you can get an additional stamp (VoA) without leaving the country and stay an additional 30 days. This can be done only once. After this, you would have to leave Indonesia. We have agents in Bali and in other parts of Indonesia that can help you with this service. Feel free to contact us for assistance or for any other questions you may have.

Technically you can also decide to simply “overstay” and pay a “fine” when leaving (IDR 200.000 for every day that you overstayed).

Go to a visa agent, obtain a sponsor letter and leave for a neighboring country (e.g. Singapore). Another agent in Singapore can help you process your 60-day social visa within a day (express service may incur additional fees) and have you on board your flight back to Indonesia that same evening. If you prefer to process the visa yourself using your sponsor letter, the process may take up to 3 working days or more.


Working in Bali, Indonesia?

Do I need a visa for Bali or a permit in order to work? Getting the permit for working in Indonesia or a KITAS is something very different; you would need to get hired by a company who sponsors you and has the right to hire a foreigner. If you intend to cheat the system and start working without a valid work permit (although for some this seems easy and straightforward) you might end up getting deported. This happens more often than one would think. Quite a few people dream of living and working on Bali and believe that they could easily work as English teachers, Yoga teachers, surf teachers or tour guides. This is not the case and the officials are getting more strict in enforcing these regulations. What might have worked in 2013 does not work anymore.


Countries whose foreign nationals are exempt from paying a Visa Fee

The following foreign nationals do NOT NEED to pay for a Visa. In the immigration hall at the airport, you would still have to cue and obtain a stamp when you arrive, because the length of stay is restricted to 30 days. But you do not need to pay anything for it. So it’s like getting a normal visa on arrival but not having to pay for it.

According to Directorate General of Immigration Indonesia:
Citizens from the following countries  are permitted to enter visa-free for short visits of up to 30 days, granted at any immigration checkpoint.

Brunei, Darussalam | Cambodia | Chile  | Ecuador  | Hong Kong SAR  | Laos | Macao SAR  | Malaysia  | Morocco  | Myanmar | Peru  | Philippines  | Singapore  | Thailand  | Vietnam

(with Japan, China, South Korea, and Russia to follow soon. Australia was originally planned to also join this list, but Indonesian government decided at the end against this idea.)

All other foreign nationals are required to possess a visa. Visas are issued to those persons who are visiting Indonesia on government work, on business, for social-cultural activities and for holidays.


The following nationalities are eligible for a Visa on Arrival

According to, and passport holders from the following countries can obtain a VoA (Visa on Arrival).

  1. All EU countries except Croatia
  2. Algeria
  3. Australia
  4. Argentina Bahrain
  5. Brazil
  6. Canada
  7. China (soon no need to pay for visa)
  8. Egypt
  9. Fiji
  10. India
  11. Japan (soon no need to pay for visa)
  12. Kuwait
  13. Libya
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Maldives
  16. Mexico
  17. Monaco
  18. New Zealand
  19. Norway
  20. Oman
  21. Panama
  22. Qatar
  23. Russia (soon no need to pay for visa)
  24. Saudi Arabia
  25. South Africa
  26. South Korea (soon no need to pay for visa)
  27. Suriname
  28. Switzerland
  29. Taiwan PRC
  30. Timor Leste
  31. Tunisia
  32. Turkey
  33. UAE – United Arab Emirates
  34. USA – United States of America

It is PLANNED that Indonesia will waive visa requirements for China, Japan, Russia and South Korea in 2015.


Arrival & Departure Card

Since April 1st 2015 it is no longer required to fill in this form and to hand it over to the immigration officer at the immigration desk. So if the flight you are on “forgets” to hand out the Arrival/Departure cards, do not panic!

But you should keep your boarding pass and show it to the immigration officer, if required. Do not leave it on the plane or throw it away!

Nothing to declare?
You will still be given a tax declaration slip to fill in (if not, pick one up in the arrival hall). Just tick “no” for all options unless you need to declare something of course (it is not allowed to bring in cash of more than US$ 10.000!). Officers will collect the slip back from you when you exit through customs.

No Comments

Post A Comment